Sonoma Valley school district announces summer school offerings

The "Follow This Story" feature will notify you when any articles related to this story are posted.

When you follow a story, the next time a related article is published — it could be days, weeks or months — you'll receive an email informing you of the update.

If you no longer want to follow a story, click the "Unfollow" link on that story. There's also an "Unfollow" link in every email notification we send you.

This tool is available only to subscribers; please make sure you're logged in if you want to follow a story.

Please note: This feature is available only to subscribers; make sure you're logged in if you want to follow a story.

Subscribe

The Sonoma Valley Unified School District is offering summer school to district students during the months of June and July.

For kindergarten through third grade students from June 10 to July 12, the district is offering a summer literacy academy at Prestwood Elementary School. This program is funded by the Sonoma Valley Education Foundation and offers reading and writing support.

For rising 7th and 8th graders, Altimira Middle School is offering a summer program focused on math and literacy intervention from June 10 to July 10.

Fourth through 8th grade English learners will be offered classes in English language development at Adele Harrison Middle School. These classes will be June 12 to July 12.

Most programs require teacher recommendation and approval. District parents should see their child’s teacher for more information.

In additional, eligible students in all grades who participate in district special education programs may receive extended school year services at sites throughout the district from June 12 to July 12.

Sonoma Valley High School Summer School serves 9th through 12th grade students from Sonoma Valley High School and Creekside High School. Students are offered credit recovery classes in math, science, English, social studies and English language development. Original credits for chemistry and geometry will also be offered to students who qualify. Classes are in session from June 14 to July 12.

For information about-

Summer Literacy:

Katie Hahn at khahn@sonomaschools.org

Altimira Intervention:

Chrissy Waters at cwaters@sonomaschools.org

SVHS Summer School:

Jason Sutter at jsutter@sonomaschools.org

Terri Hernandez at thernandez@sonomaschools.org

Adele English Learner Program:

Sonia Castaneda at scastaneda@sonomaschools.org

SVUSD Special Education Extended School Year Program:

Hervy Williams at hwilliams@sonomaschools.org.

Show Comment

Our Network

The Press Democrat
Petaluma Argus Courier
North Bay Business Journal
Sonoma Magazine
Bite Club Eats
La Prensa Sonoma
Emerald Report
Spirited Magazine