Britta Johnson will serve as the president of the Sonoma Valley Unified School District board for the coming year.

Johnson, who represents the Prestwood School area, was elected at Tuesday night’s school board meeting. She was appointed to the board in March 2015 replacing Helen Marsh, who stepped down. She retained her seat in 2016 when she was the only person to run for the Prestwood seat.

Nicole Ducarroz was elected vice president, John Kelly was elected clerk, Sal Chavez was named as the district representative on the Sonoma County Committee of School District Organization while Dan Gustafson was named the alternate.

Johnson will serve on the Curriculum Advisory Council; Ducarroz will continue as the representative on the School Nutrition and Physical Activity Advisory Committee (SNAP); Chavez will serve on the District English Language Advisory Committee (DELAC); Ducarroz and Gustafson will serve on the Equity and Inclusion Task Force Committee and Kelly will serve on the Special Education Committee.