Mostly clear

Babe Ruth baseball titles on line tonight

The Sonoma Valley Babe Ruth baseball’s National League race turned into a three-team first-place battle that ended with a three-way tie atop the final regular season standings between the Cubs, Lions and Rotary.

After tie-breakers were needed for the playoffs seeding, Rotary earned the National League’s top seed and in Tuesday night’s playoffs opener at Arnold Field it built up an early lead and cruised into the title game with a 6-1 victory over the fourth-seeded Colts.

The Rotary will face the winner of last night’s playoffs opener between the second-seeded Cubs and the third-seeded Lions in tonight’s 7:30 p.m. championship game under the Arnold Field lights.

Comprising the top-seeded Rotary roster – directed by manager Lonnie Oaks and coaches Gary Garcia and Richie Garcia – are Garrett Anken, Andrew Beatty, Samuel Fanucchi, Carlos Hernandez, Ethan Koler, William Lennon, Matthew Norrbom, Colton Petersen, Mason Pierce, Dylan Samaniego, Asher Sutter and Ethan Vitale.

The second-seeded Cubs – directed by manager Justin Garrett and coaches Mario Alioto and Joe Lunny – consist of Michael Daly, Maitland Eagle, Trent Garrett, Tyler Garrett, Brendan Hogan, Nazir Lyle, Kole Morgan, John Murray, Andrew Purdom, Sean Sanders, Maxwell Yankovich and Samuel Zyskowski.

comments powered by Disqus
© The Sonoma Index Tribune  |  Terms of Service |  Privacy Policy |  Jobs With Us |  RSS |  Advertising |  Sonoma Media Investments
Switch to our Mobile View