Mostly sunny

Edwards 10th straight different champ

There’s no repeating as a NASCAR champion at Sonoma Raceway, at least, that is, for a decade.

Going into Sunday’s 26th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series running of the Toyota/Save Mart 350, there had been nine different winners in the Valley in as many years.

Make that 10 different NASCAR victors in Sonoma after Carl Edwards won by edging out second-place finisher Jeff Gordon, formerly of Vallejo, who, for the second year in a row, was denied his sixth title on Sonoma Raceway’s famous 11-turn, 1.99-mile NASCAR road course.

Last year, Gordon was nipped by defending champion and ninth consecutive winner Martin Truex Jr., who followed Toyota/Save Mart 350 champions Clint Bowyer (2012), Kurt Busch (2011), Jimmie Johnson (2008), Kasey Kahne (2009), Kyle Busch (2008), Juan Pablo Montoya (2007), Gordon (2006) and Tony Stewart (2005).

As for multi-Toyota/Save Mart 350 Sonoma winners, Gordon leads the pack with five titles (1998 through 2000, ’04 and ’06), followed by dual NASCAR winners Stewart (2001, ’05), Rusty Wallace (1990, ’96), Ernie Irvan (1992, ’94) and Ricky Rudd (1989, 2002).

comments powered by Disqus
© The Sonoma Index Tribune  |  Terms of Service |  Privacy Policy |  Jobs With Us |  RSS |  Advertising |  Sonoma Media Investments
Switch to our Mobile View