Sonoma Valley High School’s seventh annual Dragon Hall of Fame banquet and ceremony will be held Saturday afternoon, May 10, at Hanna Boys Center, located on Arnold Drive and Agua Caliente Road, and the popular event is close to being a sellout.

This year’s event, which begins at 12:30 p.m., will honor one coach and a longtime SVHS supporter, employee and former coach with special awards, as well as seven individual athletes and a “team of the decade.”

Included in Sonoma’s 2014 Hall of Fame class are longtime track and field coach Sherman Harris, who will be accepting the D.A. Pfeiffer Coaches Award, and Margaret Cunningham, who will be receiving the Mulas Family Recognition Award, which is named for the late Schellville fire chief and dairy farmer, Mitch Mulas, and his family.

The award honors people, families or businesses who have contributed time and resources to ensure that the Valley’s students, athletes and coaches have the additional support necessary to have successful seasons and experiences, with Cunningham being more than qualified for the honor.

The 2013 Dragon Hall of Fame athletic individual inductees are John Koeberer for the 1960s; John Litzenberg and Alexis Howell for the 1980s; Bobbie O’Gorman, Richard Davison and Veronica Perez for the 1990s; and Melissa Van Paris for the 2000s.

Sonoma’s “team of the decade” being honored is the 1984 Dragons’ football team, which was the first Sonoma County League championship squad for former head coach Mick O’Meara and defensive coordinator Mike Mulas, who both retired after the 2012 season.

For Dragon Hall of Fame ticket information, to make donations or for more details, contact hall of fame committee member and SVHS alumnus Bob Kruljac at 483-1856.